2018 winners

Clive Schlee, CEO of Pret A Manger, has been singled out by his peers as the standout individual in the UK’s eating and drinking out market.  Clive joined Pret as CEO in 2003. He has over 25 years’ experience in the retail food business with Pret, Itsu and Jardine Matheson, the Hong Kong-based multi-national. As one of the longest-standing CEOs in the sector, Clive has not rested on his laurels and has driven a culture of innovation and excellence, and was well deserved of collecting the Retailers’ Retailer of the Year Award 2018.
Following his win, Schlee shared his thoughts with MCA on the expansion of Pret and its closeness to customers – Read more on www.mca‑insight.com

Other winners of the 2018 awards include:

Emerging Concept – Mowgli
MCA met with former barrister Nisha Katona following Mowgli’s gong for best emerging concept – Read more on www.mca‑insight.com

Best Concept – Dishoom

Best Venue – The Ned
Following its Retailers’ Retailer award for best venue, The Ned’s managing director Gareth Banner shared his thoughts with MCA about this £20m mega project – Read more on www.mca‑insight.com

The Best Use of Technology – McDonald’s
Self-order screens and bluetooth locators are soon to become the norm at McDonald’s as it rolls out its Experience the Future programme, which was awarded the Best Use of Technology gong at the 2018 Retailers’ Retailer awards – Read more on www.mca‑insight.com

The Evolution Award – ETM Group
ETM Group’s co-founder and CEO Ed Martin explained to MCA how ETM completely changed its sales mix after opening in the Botanist Broadgate, becoming far more wet-led and experiential in nature – Read more on www.mca‑insight.com

Best Company – Pret A Manger

Deal of the Year – Heineken & Patron’s acquisition of Punch

Investor of the Year – Richard Caring
In a rare interview, Richard Caring, alongside Ivy Collection chief executive and Bill’s chairman David Campbell, talks to MCA about the future of the high street – Read more on www.mca‑insight.com

Growth Company of the Year – The New World Trading Company

Lifetime Achievement – Ian Neill

The Tim Bacon Rising Star Award – Simon Potts, The Alchemist


2017 Winners 2016 Winners   2015 Winners  2014 Winners  2013 Winners  2012 Winners 1999-2011 Winners